Since I wrote this blog post, Google Plus has gone through a few changes. Google Plus is no longer used to display a business’ local listing. To manage your business’ listing on Google, you would use Google My Business¬†instead. However, your Google My Business listing and Google Plus page are connected, so if you transfer ownership of your Google Plus Company page, then you just transferred ownership of your Google My Business listing as well. Keep reading to learn how to transfer ownership of a Google Business Account from your company’s Google Plus page.

1.Go to the Manage Account Section

The Manage Account button on a Google Plus page

The Manage Account button on a Google Plus page

You would do this from a desktop computer. In order to get to your company’s Manage Account section from Google Plus, you need to:

  1. Click your company’s thumbnail on the top right of the screen.
  2. Click the Manage Account button.

2. Go to the Manage Permissions section

Google Business Account Manage Permissions Button

Google Business Account Manage Permissions Button

You’ll also be able to manage multiple Google Business services here (Photos, YouTube, Google My Business) as well. If you want to pass ownership to someone else, click the Manage Permissions button.

3. Add, Edit, or Delete Users

Google Account User Permissions - This is where you can transfer ownership of your Google Plus Company page.

Google Business Account User Permissions

A modal window will pop up with all of your Google Business Account’s users and their permissions. I’ll explain each number in the screenshot above:

  1. Add New User – Click this icon to add a new user. You can make this new user a Communications Manager, a Manager, or an Owner.
  2. Edit Existing User Permissions – Click the arrow or the user’s title to change their role. You will have the same choices as if you were adding a new user, but you’ll also be able to make an existing user a Primary Owner. A Primary Owner can edit anybody’s account permissions and remove anybody from a Google Business Account. There can only be one Primary Owner per Google Business Account.
  3. Remove User – Click this icon to remove a user’s access. You’ll receive a warning before this happens, and you’ll need to confirm the removal.

If you choose to make an existing user a Primary Owner, you’ll get an alert, and you’ll need to confirm the Primary Owner transfer. Anybody except for the Primary Owner can remove their own Google Business Account access.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to put them in the comments section.